Labour gain 6 councillors as Conservatives lose control of Folkestone and Hythe District Council

Labour have made gains in Folkestone and Hythe District Council with six new Labour councillors elected. Laura Davison, the parliamentary candidate from 2017, will represent Folkestone Central. Ray Field and Nicola Keen won Folkestone Harbour ward. Michelle Dorrell, Connor McConville and Jackie Meade were elected in East Folkestone.
In a terrible night for the Conservatives they lost 10 seats and, after 15 years of a Conservative majority, they lost control of the council. The council will now be made up of 13 Conservatives, 6 Labour, 6 Greens, 2 Lib Dems, 2 UKIP and 1 Independent. Speaking after the results were announced Laura Davison said: “It is fantastic that we have got Labour councillors elected. This is a vote for change and a rejection of the Tory politics of Folkestone and Hythe. People haven’t been listened to and that is what we need to change.”


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *