Councillors and Candidates

What does a Councillor do?

Councillors represent wards in their towns much like MPs represent constituencies in Parliament. There is a fantastic, informative guide to becoming and being a Labour councillor here. 

Three Labour Councillors – also standing to become Kent County Councillors in the May 2021 Elections – tell us what the job means to them. 

This section provides a list of your Labour Councillors and links to help you get in touch if you need their help
– or if you want to help them by supporting their work.

Folkestone and Hythe District Council: Your Labour Councillors

Folkestone CentralLaura Davison
East Folkestone: Michelle Dorrell
East FolkestoneConnor McConville
East FolkestoneJackie Meade
Folkestone HarbourNikki Keen

Folkestone Town Council: Your Labour Councillors

Cheriton West: Paul Bingham
Cheriton East: Jonathan Graham
East Folkestone: Michelle Dorrell
East Folkestone: Connor McConville
East Folkestone: Jackie Meade
Folkestone Central: Dave Horton
Folkestone Central: Abena Akuffo-Kelly
Folkestone Central: Belinda Walker
Folkestone Harbour: Nicola Keen

Labour councillors: making a difference for your community

Here in Folkestone, Hythe & Romney Marsh your local Labour Party supports candidates in fighting local elections for Parish, Town, District and County elections. The next elections will be for Town Council seats and for Kent County Council seats in May 2021 – watch out for further news of how to get involved and help our candidates to win!